UMMS Affiliation

Center for Infectious Disease and Vaccine Research; Department of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases and Immunology

Publication Date


Document Type



Immunity | Immunology and Infectious Disease | Immunology of Infectious Disease | Infectious Disease | Virology


We defined the epitopes recognized by three influenza A virus-specific, H-2Kd-restricted CD8(+) cytotoxic T-lymphocyte (CTL) clones: H1-specific clone A-12, H2-specific clone F-4, and H1- and H2-cross-reactive clone B7-B7. The A-12 and B7-B7 clones recognized the same peptide, which comprises amino acids 533 to 541 (IYSTVASSL) of A/PR/8 hemagglutinin (HA). The F-4 and B7-B7 clones both recognized the peptide which comprise amino acids 529 to 537 (IYATVAGSL) of A/Jap HA. Amino acids 533 to 541 of A/PR/8 HA are compatible with amino acids 529 to 537 of A/Jap HA. Amino acid S at positions 3 and 7 was responsible for recognition by H1-specific clone A-12, while amino acid G at position 7 was responsible for recognition by H2-specific clone F-4. Two conserved amino acids, T at position 4 and A at position 6, were responsible for recognition by H1-, and H2-cross-reactive clone B7-B7. These results indicate that a single nine-amino-acid region is recognized by HA-specific CTL clones of three different subtype specificities and that the amino acids responsible for the recognition by the CTL clones are different.


influenza A virus, epitopes

Rights and Permissions

Copyright © 1998, American Society for Microbiology. Publisher PDF posted as allowed by the publisher's author rights policy at


J Virol. 1998 Nov;72(11):9404-6.

Journal/Book/Conference Title

Journal of virology

Related Resources

Link to Article in PubMed

PubMed ID